Difference between “Save” and “Save As”

·        
The “Save” command automatically saves a file using
the same name, format and location, as when it was last saved or opened from. While
the “Save As” command opens a dialogue box in which the user can change the
name of the file, the format, as well as the location of where the file is
saved.
·        
“Save” is very fast and convenient, as the user can
just save the file with a single click of the mouse or one can also use the
shortcut command, crtl+s.

Also, using the save command on a new file, one that
hasn’t been saved before, will also prompt a dialogue box, in which the user
must name the file, and choose its format and location. One can also use the
original format and the suggested name and location as given in the box. “Save
As”, on the other hand, is a bit lengthy as one has to go through the entire
process of the dialogue box. However, “Save As”, allows the user to save the
file to a new location, under a new name and/or format, without saving the
changes to the original file.

·        
“Save” overwrites the current version, so notes.doc
would be saved as notes.doc and the old version is gone. While “Save As” creates
a new copy of the file, leaving the old one intact. so notes.doc would stay as
before you hit ‘Save As’ and you could create notes2.doc which would contain
the new information.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x